Quick links:
 Latest Team Rankings
 Free Rivals Alerts
 Member Services
ShopMobileRadio RSSRivals.com Yahoo! Sports

November 13, 2012

Division format to start in 2013

The Big East approved a two-division format Tuesday for the 2013 and 2014 football seasons.

The Big East's presidents and league officials met Tuesday in Rosemont, Ill. The conference will be divided into a western division of Boise State, Houston, Memphis, San Diego State, SMU and Temple, and an eastern division of Central Florida, Cincinnati, UConn, Louisville, Rutgers and South Florida.

The winners of the two divisions will play in the conference's first-ever championship game, starting in 2013.

"This aligment gives the conference and its fans the best of both worlds -- national exposure that is a result of the Big East being in six of the top 10 media markets -- with a schedule that focuses on spirited regional rivalries," Big East commissioner Mike Aresco told ESPN.com's Brett McMurphy.

Navy, along with another school yet to be determined, are expected to join the Big East in 2015, additions that could re-shuffle the divisions.

The Big East will announce home and away opponents next month.



Latest Headlines:


Rivals.com is your source for: College Football | Football Recruiting | College Basketball | Basketball Recruiting | College Baseball | High School | College Merchandise
Site-specific editorial/photos RunningtheBulls.com. All rights reserved. This website is an officially and independently operated source of news and information not affiliated with any school or team.
About | Advertise with Us | Contact | Privacy Policy | About our Ads | Terms of Service | Copyright/IP policy | Yahoo! Sports - NBC Sports Network

Statistical information 2014 STATS LLC All Rights Reserved.